Ferrytale trip: Outer Hebrides

Many things I did for the first time in my life during this journey. The most important, most exciting and terrifying at the same moment was the perspective of sleeping in a tent. 3 weeks after coming back I am still missing much our nomadic time. Sorry for my ignorance but few months ago, when my boyfriend said Let’s go to Outer Hebrides I even didn’t know where the heck it was. So it was also my first time travelling to North. Expectations were really high, everyone among my friends was probably fed up with my all-the-time-talking about what I have to experience and almost all dreams came true. Almost, because we weren’t lucky enough with aurora borealis, but I still need to have dreams to wait for. The wildest BBC Earth show straight from the reality which I had around me every single day will keep me in a hunger until next adventure.

What also was said:

with this wind water will never get boiled/couscous again/f*cking midges are killing me/how are we supposed to pitch the tent in mud/who is cleaning spot for tent from sheep and rabbits poo/need a pee but it is so cold outside/bloody hell, why this car stinks so much/is there no pub here or what?

but let’s not talk about it anymore.

41

256789101112131414a151718192021232425262728293132333435363738394041424344454647484950

Hebridean trip was through islands: Barra, Eriskay, South Uist, Benbecula, Baleshare, North Uist, Berneray, Harris, Great Bernera and Lewis.

***

Ferrytale trip was our summer project through some Scottish islands. From South to North of Outer Hebrides (also known as Western Isles) , with a break on Skye to end up in Isle of Rum. 7 ferries, 12 islands, 750 miles by car and 11 spots for camping nights. Uncountable number of sheep, midges attacks and small rain, also a few unexpected golden hours.

2 thoughts on “Ferrytale trip: Outer Hebrides

Skomentuj

